First Security State Bank Cedar Falls: 319-266-0474 \ Evansdale: 319-235-6731 \  Waterloo: 319-233-1181
Home Personal Banking Business Banking About Us
Online Banking Login
User ID
Learn About FSSB
Meet our Officers What's New Privacy Policy History Contact Us Locations

View Locations

About FSSB

Meet our Officers

  • Evansdale Officers
  • Cedar Falls Officers

Cindy Trepp, SVP and Cashier

Cindy Trepp was born and raised in Waterloo.  She is a graduate of West High School and the University of Northern Iowa.  She began her career as a bank examiner with the OCC and the Iowa Division of Banking, prior to joining First Security State Bank in 1986.  She currently is treasurer for the Eastern Iowa Vision User Group and has been involved in other area groups in the past.  She is active in Partners in Education at Poyner Elementary in Evansdale. 

Ronald D. Andresen, AVP, Compliance Officer and Loan Officer (NMLS ID # 593745)

Ron Andresen is the Compliance Officer and Loan Officer at Evansdale for First Security State Bank. He has been in banking since 1990. Ron is a resident of Hudson, Iowa and is a Wartburg College graduate majoring in business administration. Ron is a graduate of the Commercial Lending school and the Consumer Credit school at Iowa Bankers Association. Ron is a past president/chair of Iowa Bankers Association's Iowa Bank Leadership Institute. He was a past president and treasurer of the Hudson Chamber of Commerce. Ron has a passion for almost all sports and follows UNI and Wartburg athletics. He has been a Hudson Athletic Booster Club board member, Hudson Community Schools Advisory board member, Junior Achievement volunteer, and past treasurer of the Hudson Educational Foundation.

Dennis M. Hansen,  President, CEO and Chairman of the Board

Dennis was born and raised in Waterloo, Iowa.  He graduated from Columbus High School and from the University of Northern Iowa with a degree in Finance and a minor in Mathematics.  He began his career as a bank examiner with the State of Iowa and then with the Federal Reserve of Dallas.  In 1991 he joined First Security State Bank as an Assistant Vice President.  Dennis is currently President, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board of First Security State Bank, and President and Chairman of Evans Bancshares Inc.  Dennis is also chairman of the Waverly Airport Commission.   Dennis enjoys hockey, bicycling and golf.

Timothy J. Mack, Executive Vice President

Tim is a Waterloo native and graduated from Columbus High School in 1986, the University of St. Thomas in 1990 with a B.A. in Finance and Iowa State University in 1992 with an MBA. Tim is also a graduate of the Graduate School of Banking in Madison, WI. Tim has been active in the community as a volunteer with Junior Achievement at Columbus High School and has served on several community boards and finance committees including the Waterloo Cedar Falls Symphony Orchestra, Pathways Behavioral Services, Red Cross, Girl Scouts, and Columbus High School.  At First Security State Bank, Tim’s focus is business banking.

Charlie Laipple, Senior Vice President

Charlie has been in retail banking in the Waterloo/Cedar Falls area for over thirty years. He has been able to build long term relationships within the community and assist people in reaching their financial goals. Charlie is now lending to the children of many of his initial customers. He has lived in the Cedar Valley all of his life. He raised his children here and they attended school here. Charlie has been an active member of the Waterloo Lions club for 20 years and was a past president of the club. He has been a member of the Elks Club for 25 years. Charlie enjoys working with people and giving them solid information to make good credit decisions.

Chad S. Cutsforth, Asst Vice President

Chad is a graduate of Columbus High School and Upper Iowa University with a Bachelor's degree in business. Chad has been with First Security State Bank since 2003 and has been working primarily with commercial truck loans since March 2006. Chad is a volunteer youth soccer coach. He is a member of the Dike City Council, Waterloo Transportation Club and the Iowa Motor Truck Association. Chad and his family currently reside in Dike.

Robert E. Manning, Sr. Vice President – Real Estate (NMLS ID # 593746)

Bob Manning was born and raised in Waterloo – having graduated from Columbus High School. He has a degree in Finance from Iowa State University. He has been in banking a total of 30 years and at First Security State Bank for 22 years. Having built two homes himself, he has specialized in construction lending within his overall interest in commercial and residential real estate. He has financed a number of vacation homes for his customers, combining his interest in lake property and his career in real estate. Bob is a past treasurer of the Greater Cedar Valley Chamber of Commerce – Waterloo. He is a member of the Waterloo Downtown Rotary, Waterloo Ambassadors, Waterhawks Water Ski Team, Northeast Iowa Homebuilders Associatio, Orchard Hill Church and is the President of Cedar Trails Partnership.




------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- TOP Back to Top

Board Of Directors

Dennis M. Hansen - Chairman of the Board
Timothy J. Mack - Secretary
Directors from outside the bank:
Richard Arenholz
Mark F. Conway
Paul L. Martin
Burk A. Miehe
James E. Ocheltree
Scott Staebell

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- TOP Back to Top


The bank was originally chartered as a national bank in 1962. It remained the First National Bank of Evansdale until 1977. In November of 1977 the bank changed its charter and became chartered by the State of Iowa. Due to the change in charter the bank's name was changed to Evansdale State Bank. In October 2003, First Security State Bank opened its’ newest branch in Cedar Falls. We now serve the entire Cedar Valley with branches in Evansdale and Cedar Falls.

The bank is a wholly owned subsidiary of Evans Bancshares, Inc. The holding company is locally owned by community investors.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- TOP Back to Top

Click here for Dow Chart Click here for Nasdaq Chart Click here for S&P 500 Chart
How can we help you?
Personal Banking Solutions
Business Banking Solutions
Thinking about moving your account? Let us help you!